Lok Sabha poll results: The Heroes and Zeroes

The BJP was on Friday set for a comfortable majority in the Lok Sabha. The Congress, India`s oldest political party which had ruled India for a decade since 2004 as the head of the UPA, appeared set for an unprecedented rout.

Zee Media Bureau

New Delhi: The BJP was on Friday set for a comfortable majority in the Lok Sabha. The Congress, India`s oldest political party which had ruled India for a decade since 2004 as the head of the UPA, appeared set for an unprecedented rout.

Here are some of the candidates who sprang a surprise by defeating top leaders in the Lok Sabha elections:

  • Senior BJP leader Shahnawaz Hussain lost from Bihar`s Bhagalpur by over 2 lakh votes. He was beaten by RJD`s Shailesh Kumar.
  • Law and Communications Minister Kapil Sibal, who had won twice from Chandni Chowk, was in the third position this time. Delhi Bharatiya Janata Party chief Harsh Vardhan won by huge margin in Chandni Chowk over AAP`s Ashutosh.
  • BJP`s Kirron Kher defeats Congress rival and four-time MP Pawan Bansal, and Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) candidate Gul Panag in Chandigarh.
  • In Baghpat (Uttar Pradesh), BJP`s Satyapal Singh, a former Mumbai police commissioner, defeats RLD leader and Civil Aviation Minister Ajit Singh.
  • Infosys co-founder and technocrat Nandan Nilekani of the Congress party faced defeat at the hands of BJP`s Ananth Kumar in Karnataka`s prestigious Bangalore South Lok Sabha constituency.
  • Union minister Ghulam Nabi Azad lost from the Udhampur Lok Sabha constituency in Jammu and Kashmir to BJP`s Jitender Singh.
  • Speaker of outgoing Lok Sabha Meira Kumar lost in her home turf of Sasaram in Bihar to BJP`s Chhedi Paswan by 63,327 votes.
  • Senior Congress leader Ambika Soni lost to SAD nominee Prem Singh Chandjuamajra from the Anandpur Sahab Lok Sabha constituency of Punjab.
  • In a shocking news to Rashtriya Janata Dal`s chief Lalu Prasad Yadav, his daughter Misa Bharti and wife Rabri Devi lost to BJP candidates Ram Kirpal Yadav in Pataliputra and Rajiv Pratap Rudy in Saran.
  • Congress MP and AICC general secretary Mukul Wasnik was defeated by Kripal Tumane of Shiv Sena by a margin of 2,55,791 votes from Maharashtra`s Ramtek Lok Sabha constituency.
  • In an embarrassment for Himachal Pradesh Chief Minister Virbhadra Singh, his wife and Congress candidate from Mandi Lok Sabha seat Pratibha Singh was defeated by BJP`s Ram Swaroop Sharma.
  • In Bihar`s Jehanabad, RLSP candidate Arun Kumar defeated RJD`s Surendra Yadav.

  • AAP candidate and actor-comedian Bhagwant Mann wins in Sangrur, defeating former union minister Sukhdev Singh Dhindsa (Akali Dal) and outgoing MP Vijay Inder Singla (Congress).
  • Independent candidate Jaswant Singh lost in Barmer to Colonel Sonaram Chaudhary of BJP.
  • Union Minister and Congress candidate Girija Vyas lost to BJP`s Chandra Prakash Joshi by a margin of 3,16,857 votes in Chittorgarh Lok Sabha seat.
  • DMK leader A Raja, prime accused in the 2G scam, was defeated by C Gopalakrishnan by a huge margin of 1,04,090 votes in Nilgiris. Incidentally, it was not a candidate but the option called None of the Above (NOTA) which turned out to be the third most preferred choice of the electorate.
  • Union Minister and Rajasthan PCC president Sachin Pilot was defeated in Ajmer Lok Sabha seat by the BJP candidate and sitting MLA Sanwarlal Jat.
  • National Conference leader Farooq Abdullah was defeated by Tariq Hameed Karra of the Peoples Democratic Party from the Srinagar Lok Sabha constituency in Jammu and Kashmir.
  • Former BJP national president Nitin Gadkari defeated veteran Congress leader Vilas Muttemwar in Nagpur in his debut Lok Sabha election by a margin of 2,86,828 votes.
  • Rao Inderjit Singh of the BJP defeated his nearest rival
    Zakir Husain of the INLD by a margin of 2,71,120 votes from Gurgaon constituency.

  • Lok Sabha Deputy Speaker and BJP candidate Karia Munda
    won the Khunti Lok Sabha seat in Jharkhand defeating his nearest rival Enosh Ekka of Jharkhand Party by 92,948 votes.

  • In Gauhati constituency, BJP National Vice-President
    and former Union Minister Bijoya Chakravarty defeated Congress candidate Manash Bora, son of Assam Social Welfare Minister Akon Bora by a margin 3,15,784 votes.

  • Minister of State in PMO V Narayanasamy was another major loser for the Congress party. AINRC`s R Radhakrishnan wrested Puducherry from him by a margin of 60,854 votes.
  • JMM supremo and former Union Minister Shibu Soren won the Dumka Lok Sabha seat, defeating his nearest rival Sunil Soren of BJP by over 39,030 votes.
  • Senior BJP leader Murli Manohar Joshi romped home from Kanpur Lok Sabha constituency trouncing his nearest rival Union Minister Shri Prakash Jaiswal by a margin of 2.22 lakh votes.
  • BJP`s Krishan Pal Gujjar won by a massive margin of
    4,66,873 votes from Faridabad defeating his nearest rival and sitting MP Avtar Singh Bhadana of the Congress.

  • Bollywood singer and BJP nominee Babul Supriyo won the Asansol Lok Sabha seat in West Bengal, defeating his nearest rival Dola Sen of the Trinamool Congress.
  • Maheish Girri of BJP wins from East Delhi, defeating Congress` Sandeep Dikshit and AAP`s Rajmohan Gandhi.
  • Congress candidate Ajay Maken was at the third spot in New Delhi where BJP`s Meenakshi Lekhi won over Aam Aadmi Party`s Ashish Khetan.
  • Union Steel Minister Beni Prasad Verma lost to BJP`s Kirti Vardhan Singh by over two lakh votes in Gonda.
  • AAP candidate Harinder Singh Khalsa defeats Congress candidate Sadhu Singhand SAD candidate Kulwant Singh in Fatehgarh Sahib.
  • AAP`s Dr Dharamvir Gandhi wins Patiala by defeating Congress` Preneet Kaur and SAD`s Deepinder Dhillon.
  • BJP candidate from Ahmedabad East and Hindi film actor Paresh Rawal, who replaced seven-term MP Harin Pathak, defaeted Congress` candidate Himmatsinh Patel.
  • By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link