This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

LS polls: Union Ministers trounced in Andhra Pradesh

PTI | Last Updated: Friday, May 16, 2014 - 21:41

Hyderabad: All Union Ministers belonging to the Congress suffered humiliating defeats on Friday as the party was decimated in the Lok Sabha polls in Andhra Pradesh.

Kishore Chandra Deo (Araku), M M Pallam Raju (Kakinada), Killi Kruparani (Srikakulam), Panabala Lakshmi (Bapatla) and Kotla Suryaprakash Reddy (Kurnool) lost their seats to their Telugu Desam and YSR Congress rivals.

Another former Union Minister Daggubati Purandeswari, who contested as the BJP candidate from Rajampet in Kadapa district, also faced defeat by a margin of over one lakh votes.

Compounding the misery of YSR Congress, that was trounced in the AP Assembly polls, its honorary president and president Y S Jaganmohan Reddy`s mother, Y S Vijayamma, lost to BJP state president Kambhampati Hari Babu by a margin of over 60,000 votes in Visakhapatnam.

Giving a shocker to former Chief Minister N Kiran Kumar Reddy, who vehemently fought against the bifurcation of the state and launched the Jai Samaikyaandhra Party on the united state platform, his younger brother Kishan Kumar Reddy lost in their native Piler constituency in Chittoor district.

Kiran opted out of the electoral battle and fielded his brother at the last minute but could not escape the humiliation.

All the Congress bigwigs, including its AP committee chief N Raghuveera Reddy, were mauled in the elections.

Former Finance Minister Anam Ramanarayana Reddy faced such a humiliating defeat in his native Atmakuru Assembly constituency that he lost his security deposit.
Former Speaker of Legislative Assembly Nadendla Manohar could not score a hat-trick as he was trounced in Tenali.

Former minister Galla Aruna Kumari, who joined TDP along with her industrialist-son Jayadev, faced defeat in their home constituency Chandragiri in Chittoor district.

But Jayadev, who made his political debut, won the Guntur Lok Sabha seat.

Former minister and former PCC president Botsa Satyanarayana`s entire family had to bite the dust in their native Vizianagaram district, considered their fiefdom.

While Botsa lost the Assembly election from Cheepurupalle, his wife and MP Jhansi Rani was trounced in Vizianagaram parliamentary seat. Botsa`s brother Appala Narasaiah and nephew Appalanaidu also lost the Assembly elections.

First Published: Friday, May 16, 2014 - 21:41
comments powered by Disqus