Nitish Kumar resigns as Bihar Chief Minister

In a surprise move, Nitish Kumar on Saturday resigned as the Bihar Chief Minister.

Zee Media Bureau

Patna: In a surprise move, Nitish Kumar on Saturday resigned as the Bihar Chief Minister, a day after the Bharatiya Janata Party received an outstanding mandate in the 16th Lok Sabha polls.

Kumar has tendered his resignation to the Governor. He will address a press conference shortly.

Speculations were rife that the Nitish Kumar government in Bihar may fall as party legislators would desert him following the Janata Dal-United`s humiliating debacle in the Lok Sabha elections.

Janata Dal-United Rajya Sabha MP Ali Anwar, meanwhile, said Kumar has taken responsibility for the loss and the party has decided to seek a fresh mandate.
It was the first time that voices of dissent had surfaced over poor performance and had also questioned Nitish Kumar`s leadership.

The JD-U won only two of the 40 Lok Sabha seats in Bihar. In 2009, it had won 20 seats when it was in alliance with the BJP.

This time, the BJP won 22 seats and its ally, the Lok Janashakti Party (LJP), won six and Rashtriya Lok Samata Party (RLSP) won three. The Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) won four, while its ally Congress two and the Nationalist Congress Party (NCP) bagged one seat.

Assembly polls are due in Bihar in 2015.
Upbeat over the unexpected victory, the Bharatiya Janata Party had already demanded the resignation of Nitish Kumar for his party`s rout in polls.

Just two days back, BJP`s ally LJP chief Ram Vilas Paswan had said that after results of the Lok Sabha elections are declared, the Nitish Kumar government would fall as dozens of its legislators would desert him and there will be mid term-polls to the state Assembly in November 2014.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link