Only 43 of original 77 remain in Varanasi race

Last Updated: Monday, April 28, 2014 - 21:11

New Delhi: Only 43 candidates of the original 77 who filed papers remain in the electoral fray in Varanasi after the final withdrawal and scrutiny of nominations for the May 12 Lok Sabha poll, the State Election Commission said Monday.

Most of them dropped out after the last date of withdrawal. Final scrutiny ended at 3 p.m. Monday.

Details of the independent candidates who remained in the contest were not immediately known.

Voting for the 2014 Lok Sabha election in Varanasi would be held on May 12. The main candidates in fray are Gujarat Chief Minister Narendra Modi, Aam Admi Party chief Arvind Kejriwal and Congress party`s Ajay Rai.


Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

First Published: Monday, April 28, 2014 - 21:11

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus