This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Seemandhra polls: As it happened

Last Updated: Wednesday, May 7, 2014 - 22:21

Zee Media Bureau/Deepak Nagpal

5:10 pm: 63% polling in Seemandhra till 3 PM

About 63 per cent polling was recorded till 1500 hours today in the elections to 25 Lok Sabha and 175 Assembly constituencies in Seemandhra.

Barring sporadic incidents of clashes between workers of YSRCP and TDP and alleged attacks on policemen in Rayalaseema districts, polling has been largely peaceful, official sources said - PTI report.

3:30 pm: Over 51% polling till 1 pm in Seemandhra

Over 51 per cent polling was recorded till 1 pm in Seemandhra today as impressive voter turnout was witnessed in several parts of the region, official sources said.

Barring sporadic incidents of clashes between workers of YSRCP and TDP and alleged attacks on policemen in Rayalaseema districts, polling has been largely peaceful, they said.

A senior police official said two police officers - Appal Naidu and Rajesh Kumar-came under attack and their vehicles were also damaged after a mob pelted them with stones when they tried to regulate at a polling booth in Jammalamadugu in Kadapa district.

"Stern measures will be taken against all those responsible for the incident. There will be firm action," the official said.

The TDP has complained to the Election Commission in Delhi about the alleged attacks on policemen and media at some places and also about malfunctioning of EVMs.

2:30 pm: Modi speaks to Chandrababu Naidu

BJP`s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi is keeping a close watch on the polling process in Seemandhra, where his party has an electoral understanding with the TDP and is hoping for a good haul of seats for the alliance.

Modi telephoned TDP Chief N Chandrababu Naidu and enquired about the polling pattern in Andhra Pradesh, sources said.

He talked about various aspects of polling with the TDP chief.

12:30 pm: High turnout in Seemandhra

High turnout marked polling for 25 Lok Sabha and 175 Assembly seats in Seemandhra region of Andhra Pradesh on Wednesday.

According to Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwarlal, 33 percent people had voted till 11 am.

Kurnool district recorded the highest turnout of 41 percent while the lowest polling of 12 percent was witnessed in Guntur district.
12:00 noon: 20 injured in clashes

Around 20 people were injured in clashes between activists of rival parties in some districts of Andhra Pradesh during the Lok Sabha polls today, officials said.

Six people were injured in a clash between YSR Congress party and Telugu Desam Party activists in Parachur in Prakasam district.

Three police vehicles were damaged in an attack by villagers in Devagudi in Jammalamadugu of Kadapa district. A police officer was also injured in the attack.

Clashes between activists of the two parties were also reported from Anantapur, Chittoor and Guntur districts.

12:00 noon: All options open, says Jaganmohan Reddy

Terming as "very cruel" the way bifurcation of Andhra Pradesh was done, YSR Congress party president YS Jaganmohan Reddy today said that he has kept open all options on post-poll alliance.

"We should keep all our options open. Why should we be in hurry to support somebody. We have no pre-poll alliances (or) understanding with any body. All our options are open," he told reporters after casting his vote.

"The most important thing would be the way the state is bifurcated. It`s very cruel,"he said when asked about the key issue in the polls for the region.

10:30 am: Sporadic clashes reported from Seemandhra

Polling is underway for 25 Lok Sabha and 175 Assembly seats in Seemandhra amid sporadic clashes between activists of rival parties, officials said.

Tension prevailed at some polling stations in Kadapa, Anantapur, Chittoor and Guntur districts due to clashes between activists of the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) and the Telugu Desam Party (TDP).

Long queues were seen since early morning at many polling stations in 13 districts.

By 9 am, in the first two hours of polling, about 15 percent voter turnout was recorded, Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwar Lal said.

The highest was in Chittoor district at 21 percent and the lowest in East Godavari at 10.5 percent.

Technical snag in Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) delayed start of the polling at few places. Chief Electoral Officer Bhanwarlal said the faulty EVMs were replaced within few minutes.

YSR Congress leader YS Jagan Mohan Reddy (Pulivendula), contesting for the Assembly Elections for the first time, was among the early voters in Seemandhra (Rayalaseema and Coastal Andhra).

7:10 am: Polling starts in Andhra Pradesh for Lok Sabha, Assembly

Balloting in Andhra Pradesh for 25 Lok Sabha seats and 175 Assembly seats in Seemandhra region began on Wednesday, officials said.

Polling for the parliamentary seats and the state Assembly is being held simultaneously.

As many as 335 candidates are in the fray for the Lok Sabha.

Former union minister D Purandeswari, daughter of NT Rama Rao, is fighting from Rajampet Lok Sabha seat as a Bharatiya Janata Party candidate.

In the Assembly polls for Seemandhra region, chief ministerial hopeful and Telugu Desam Party state president N Chandrababu Naidu is contesting from Kuppam Assembly constituency.

Another chief ministerial aspirant and YSR Congress president YS Jagan Mohan Reddy is fighting his first ever Assembly election from the family stronghold Pulivendula.

The state will be formally divided on June 02, and is currently under President`s rule. - IANS

First Published: Wednesday, May 7, 2014 - 08:11

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus