Shanta Kumar enters fray, nominations in 8th phase end Saturday

Last Updated: Saturday, April 19, 2014 - 04:29

New Delhi: Former Himachal Chief Minister Shanta Kumar and PDP leader Muzaffar Hussain Baig were among the candidates who filed nominations today for the last two phases of Lok Sabha polls.

Kumar entered the fray from Kangra, where he will take on Chander Kumar of Congress and Rajan Shushant of AAP among others in the May 7 election in the penultimate phase, nominations for which will close tomorrow.

PDP leader Muzaffar Hussain Baig, Bahujan Samaj Party leader Mohammad Shafi and an independent candidate filed nominations for Baramulla parliamentary constituency in Jammu and Kashmir.
In West Bengal, altogether 54 candidates have so far filed their nominations for the May 7 poll. The six parliamentary constituencies going to the polls in this phase include Jhargram, Midnapore, Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur and Asansol.

So far 11 candidates have filed their nominations from Purulia and ten from Asansol, followed by nine each from Jhargram and Bishnupur, eight from Bankura and seven from Midnapore parliamentary constituencies.

Meanwhile, 30 candidates have so far filed their nominations for the final phase of Lok Sabha elections to be held on May 12 in 17 parliamentary constituencies in the state.

Nominations for this phase will close on April 24.

64 seats in seven states will go to polls in the eighth phase and 41 seats in three states in the last phase.

First Published: Saturday, April 19, 2014 - 04:29
comments powered by Disqus