This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Six candidates in Mumbai North get notices

PTI | Last Updated: Tuesday, May 13, 2014 - 17:51

Mumbai: Six candidates, mostly indenpendents, from Mumbai North parliamentary constituency have been served notices for their failure to submit election expenditure.

It was mandatory for the candidates to submit their expenditure details by April 12 under section 77 of Representation of the People Act.
The notices were served on six candidates-- Prashant Narsing Kharatmal (independent), Arjun Chaudhary (independent), Ashok Chandrapal Singh (Bahujan Samaj Party), Satyavijay Vithoba Chavan (independent), Mohammed Akhtar Mehboob Sheikh (Prabuddha Republic Party )and Kapil Kantilal Soni (independent), by returning officer Avinash Dhakne, officials said.
Now, the candidates will have to submit their expenditure details by April 15, failing which cases will be filed against them under section 171 of IPC and permission for use of vehicles for election campaign will be withdrawn, they added.

First Published: Tuesday, May 13, 2014 - 17:51

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus