Andaman and Nicobar Islands

By Supriya Jha | Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:27

Supriya Jha

  • The scenic Union Territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands comprise of 572 islands and lies at the juncture of the Bay of Bengal and Andaman Sea.
  • Andaman and Nicobar islands have only one Lok Sabha constituency and polling will be held on 10 April 2014.
  • There are 386 polling stations for an electorate numbering 257856.
  • The main political parties active in Andaman and Nicobar are: Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Communist Party of India (Marxist) CPI(M) and Samajwadi Party (SP).
  • Kuldeep Rai Sharma is the president of the Andaman and Nicobar Pradesh Committee and the Congress candidate for the constituency.
  • Samajwadi Party has fielded Raghubir Singh Fisherman from the lone constituency in Andaman and Nicobar.
  • Bishnu Pada Ray is the sitting BJP MP from Andaman and Nicobar.
  • The BJP won the parliamentary seat in the 2009 elections. Opinion polls predict a win for the BJP this year as well, but a close fight is predicted. 
  • 2009 Lok Sabha poll ws won by the BJP and the opinion polls suggest the same feat would be repeated by the BJP this year.
  • First Published: Friday, March 28, 2014 - 17:33
    comments powered by Disqus