This ad will auto close in 10 seconds


Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:34

Neha Attre

  • The Union Territory is the joint capital of Punjab and Haryana.
  • Elections in the state will be held on April 10.
  • It is the first planned city and has the highest per capita income.
  • The main political parties of the state include Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) and Samajwadi Party (SP).
  • Former Union Minister for Raiwlays Pawan Kumar Bansal is the Congress party candidate for the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.
  • Congress bagged the lone Parliamentary constituency seat in the last Lok Sabha elections.
  • Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won the seat in the 1996 and 1998 elections.
  • Among the prominent politicians from the state is tenth vice president of the country, Krishna Kant, who won the first seat from the UT.
  • According to opinion polls, Arvind Kejriwal-led Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) will turn out to be a surprise for the existing Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Congress parties in the state.
  • First Published: Friday, March 28, 2014 - 16:31
    comments powered by Disqus