Elections 2014: Bihar —State Profile

By Tarun Khanna | Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:18

Tarun Khanna

  • In 2014 Parliamentary Elections, Bihar would be one of the most intensely watched States. The state is represented by 40 Members of Parliament in the Lok Sabha. Out of its 40 constituencies, six seats are reserved for the Scheduled Castes (SC).
  • The major players in the 2014 election are predicted to be the JD(U), BJP, NCP, RJD, LJP and INC.
  • The JD(U) ended a 17-year-old alliance with the BJP after the latter announced Narendra Modi as its prime ministerial candidate.
  • In 2009 General Elections, JD(U) was on top by winning 20 seats followed by the BJP with 12 seats. The RJD on the other hand could win only 4 seats and Congress lagging behind with 2 seats. The remaining two seats went to others.
  • In the state Assembly election, held in 2010, JD(U) won 115 seats out of total 243. Moreover, BJP won 91, RJD won 22, INC won 4, LJP won 3, JMM and CPI won 1 each seat. The remaining 6 seats went to others.
  • JD(U) leader Nitish Kumar is the Chief Minister of the state.
  • 2014 General Elections in the state are scheduled to be held on April 10, April 17, April 24, April 30, May 07 and May 12.
  • Download the all new Zee News app for Android and iOS to stay up to date with latest headlines and news stories in Politics, Entertainment, Sports, Technology, Business and much more from India and around the world.

    First Published: Saturday, March 29, 2014 - 17:23

    More from zeenews

    comments powered by Disqus