Elections 2014: Chhattisgarh– State Profile

Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:21

Neha Attre

  • Lok Sabha elections will take place in three phases on April 10, 17 and 24 and the counting of votes will take place on May 16.
  • The state will go to polls for 11 Parliamentary constituencies.
  • Chhattisgarh state was carved out of Madhya Pradesh in the year 2000 and has 27 districts.
  • The main political parties of the state include Indian National Congress (INC) and Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP).
  • After the formation of the state, Congress was voted to power in the first state Assembly elections.
  • Since then, Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has been in power and has been elected to govern the state thrice and has been in power from the last 15 years.
  • In 2013 Assembly elections, BJP emerged as the victorious party with absolute majority after winning 49 seats.
  • Chief Minister Raman Singh was re-elected for the third term in 2013 Assembly elections.
  • The state has 90 Assembly seats out of which 10 are reserved for Scheduled Castes and 24 for Scheduled Tribes.

  • First Published: Friday, March 28, 2014 - 23:38

    More from zeenews

    comments powered by Disqus