This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Elections 2014: Delhi — State Profile

By Tarun Khanna | Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:15

Tarun Khanna

  • The national capital of India, Delhi will see a three cornered fight in upcoming 2014 General Elections with the INC, the BJP and the newly-formed Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) all set to give a tough fight to each other.
  • Some other parties that have their presence in Delhi are BSP, CPI, NCP and SAD.
  • The National Capital Territory of Delhi has seven Lok Sabha constituencies. The North West Delhi seat is reserved for the Scheduled Caste (SC)
  • In 2009 General Elections, the INC won all seven seats, making it one of the Congress dominated segments.
  • In the 2013 Assembly elections, out of 70 seats, the BJP won 32 seats with SAD, AAP won 28 seats and 2 seats went to others. However anti-incumbency and pro-AAP wave swept across Delhi and INC was reduced to just 8 seats. The AAP led by Arvind Kejriwal came to power with external support from the INC. However, the AAP government lasted for just 49 days and currently Delhi is under the President`s rule.
  • As per the opinion polls, the AAP and the BJP both will contest for three-four seats. Due to the anti-Congress wave in Delhi, INC may fail to win even a single seat.
  • 2014 General Elections in the state are scheduled to be held on April 10.
  • First Published: Saturday, March 29, 2014 - 17:32
    comments powered by Disqus