Elections 2014: Punjab —State Profile

By Tarun Khanna | Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:20

Tarun Khanna

  • The state has 13 Lok Sabha constituencies wherein four constituencies are reserved for Scheduled Castes (SC). These include Jalandhar, Faridkot, Fatehgarh Sahib and Hoshiarpur.
  • The two main parties that dominate the politics of Punjab are Shiromani Akali Dal and Indian National Congress. On the other hand, BJP contests election in the state in coalition with SAD. The other political parties are Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP), Communist party of India, Communist party of India (Marxist), Nationalist Congress Party (NCP), Shiromani Akali Dal (Simranjit Singh Mann), Lok Jan Shakti Party and Rashtriya Janata Dal.
  • In 2009 General Elections, INC won 8 seats, SAD won 4 seats and BJP could only win one seat.
  • In 2012 Assembly elections, out of 117 seats, SAD won 56 seats, INC won 46 seats, BJP won 12 seats and the remaining three went to independent candidates.
  • The state’s present Chief Minister Prakash Singh Badal of the SAD is the longest-serving chief minister with over 15 years in office.
  • 2014 General Elections in the state are scheduled to be held on April 30.

  • First Published: Saturday, March 29, 2014 - 17:14

    More from zeenews

    comments powered by Disqus