This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

General Elections 2014: Lakshadweep — State Profile

By Tarun Khanna | Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:14

Tarun Khanna

  • Lakshadweep, which is a land in the deep Arabian Sea and is a part of the Indian Subcontinent, is recognised as the smallest Union Territory of India. The UT has one Lok Sabha constituency which is reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST).
  • Main political parties in Lakshadweep are BJP, INC, CPI (M), NCP, JDU etc.
  • In 2009 General Elections, Muhammed Hamdulla Sayeed AB of INC was the winner. Since 1967 PM Sayeed of INC was the MP from this UT till 2004. In 2004, Dr P Pookunhikoya of the JDU was the MP. However, in 2009 INC again won the seat.
  • The UT is governed by an administrator appointed by the President of India. The current Administrator is H Rajesh Prasad.
  • 2014 General Elections in the state are scheduled to be held on April 10.
  • First Published: Saturday, March 29, 2014 - 17:34
    comments powered by Disqus