This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

General Elections 2014: Manipur —State Profile

By Tarun Khanna | Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:19

Tarun Khanna

  • The northeastern state of India, Manipur represents two constituencies in the Lok Sabha, Inner Manipur and Outer Manipur. While Inner Manipur seat belongs to General category, the Outer Manipur seat is reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST).
  • In 2009 General Elections, Congress won both the seats in the state. Inner Manipur is presently represented by Meinya,Dr. Thokchom and Outer Manipur is represented by Baite,Shri Thangso.
  • The political parties in the state are INC, NCP, All India Trinamool Congress, BJP, CPI, Manipur People`s Party, Naga Peoples` Front, Lok Jan Shakti Party etc.
  • In the 2012 Assembly elections, out of 60 seats, INC won 42, TMC won 7, MPP won 4 and 7 seats went to others.
  • Present Chief Minister of Manipur is Okram Ibobi Singh of the Congress.
  • 2014 General Elections in the state are scheduled to be held on April 09 and April 17.
  • First Published: Saturday, March 29, 2014 - 17:19
    comments powered by Disqus