This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

General Elections 2014: Mizoram– State Profile

Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:22

Neha Attre

  • The Lok Sabha elections in the state will be held on on April 9 and counting of votes will take place on May 16.
  • The polling will be held on one Parliamentary constituency.
  • Mizoram is the only state where women voters outnumber the male voters in the state.
  • In 2008 assembly polls, the famela voters outnumbered male voters by 6,644, and in the 2003 elections by 3,816.
  • The state has 40 seats in the Assembly.
  • The main political parties in the state include Indian National Congress (INC), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP), Zoram Nationalist Party (ZNP) and Mizo National Front (MNF).
  • In General Election 2009, INC won the only seat by majority of votes.
  • Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) is also planning to make an election debut in the state and will field retired IAS officer, M Lalmanzuala, as its candidate in the state.
  • Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla from Congress party has created history in the state after being elected as the chief minister for the fifth time.
  • Mizoram is the second most literate state of the country with a literacy rate of 91.58 per cent.
  • First Published: Friday, March 28, 2014 - 23:24
    comments powered by Disqus