This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

General Elections 2014: Nagaland– State Profile

Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:21

Neha Attre

  • The Lok Sabha elections in Nagaland will be held in the second phase on April 9 and counting of the votes will take place on May 16.
  • The state has only one Parliamentary constituency – Nagaland Lok Sabha constituency.
  • The prominent political parties in the state are Nagaland Peoples Front (NPF), Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) and Indian National Congress (INC).
  • In the Assembly elections 2013, ruling Naga Peoples Front (NPF) returned to power with an absolute majority after winning 38 seats.
  • The state has 60 seats in the Assembly out of which 59 are reserved for the candidates from Scheduled Tribes.
  • The current chief minister of the state, Neiphiu Rio, has been in power from the last 10 years.
  • The Naga issue has been dominant in the elections with a demand to unite all Naga-populated areas around the state. After years of violence, a ceasefire has been in effect in the state since 1997.
  • Opinion polls have predicted that the ruling NPF will win the lone seat in the upcoming election.
  • First Published: Friday, March 28, 2014 - 23:41
    comments powered by Disqus