This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

General Elections 2014: Tamil Nadu — State Profile

By Tarun Khanna | Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:15

Tarun Khanna

  • The southernmost state of India, Tamil Nadu plays a crucial role in government formation at the Centre. The state has 39 Lok Sabha constituencies wherein seven are reserved for Scheduled Castes (SC).
  • The major national parties active in the state are INC, BJP, BSP,CPI and CPI(M). On the other hand, some regional parties that give a tough fight in the state are AIADMK, DMDK, DMK,PMK and others including Manithaneya Makkal Katchi, Puthiya Tamizagam, All India Forward Bloc and Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi.
  • From 1947 till 1967, INC was the preferred party in Tamil Nadu. However, 1967 onwards Dravidian parties began dominating the state politics. In 2004 General Elections, the close fight was between DMK and INC while in 2009 it was between DMK and AIADMK.
  • In 2009 General Elections, DMK won 18 seats, AIADMK won 9 seats, INC won 8 seats and remaining four went to others.
  • In 2011 Assembly elections, out of 234 constituencies, AIADMK and its ally won 203 constituencies and DMK and its ally won 31 seats.
  • Jayalalithaa Jayaram of AIADMK is the present Chief Minister of the state.
  • 2014 General Elections in the state are scheduled to be held on April 24.
  • First Published: Saturday, March 29, 2014 - 17:30

    More from zeenews

    comments powered by Disqus