This ad will auto close in 10 seconds


By Supriya Jha | Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:32

Supriya Jha

  • The state, which has been ruled by the BJP`s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi for over a decade now, is better known as the “Vibrant Gujarat”.
  • The state is is in special focus in Lok Sabha Elections 2014 as its very own CM Modi is touted to be the most preferred PM candidate and he is also contesting the elections from his home turf (Vadodara).
  • Gujarat has 182 assembly constituencies and 26 parliamentary constituencies.
  • In Gujarat, the Lok Sabha polls will be held in single phase on 30th April. By-elections of state assembly will also be held on same day.
  • The most talked about constituencies in Gujarat are Vadodara and Gandhinagar, with Narendra Modi and LK Advani contesting from these seats respectively.
  • Congress is fielding Narendra Rawat against Modi from Vadodara and Kirit Patel against LK Advani from the seat of Gandhinagar.
  • Gandhinagar too, has been the BJP`s pet seat as the saffron party has been in power here since 1989. Also, Advani has won 5 times from here.
  • Gujarat can be categorised into four geographical regions – Saurashtra, north, south and central Gujarat. Saurashtra comprises of 8 Lok Sabh seats - Kutch, Junagadh, Jamnagar, Porbandar, Rajkot, Surendranagar, Amreli and Bhavnagar.
  • North Gujarat encompasses Banaskantha, Sabarkantha, Mehsana, Patan, Gandhinagar, Ahmedabad-East and West
  • South Gujarat has Mandvi and Valsad (tribal pockets) and Surat, Nansari and Bharuch.
  • Central Gujarat includes Vadodara, Chhota Udeipur, Dahod, Panchmahal, Kheda and Anand.
  • There is a Modi wave in the state but Congress has been traditionally strong in tribal and Muslim-dominated pockets, also in Central Gujarat.
  • CM Narendra Modi is contesting Lok Sabha election from Vadodara of the central Gujarat to weaken the Congress party`s influence in this area.
  • Five-time Bhavnagar MP Rajendrasinh Rana has not yet been given a ticket and the same goes for Advani`s confidante and seven-time Ahmedabad East MP Harin Pathak, who has been replaced by actor Paresh Rawal.
  • In 2012 Assembly Polls, the BJP won 115 seats, while the Congress bagged 61.
  • In last Lok Sabha Election 2009, the BJP bagged 15 seats, while the Congress got 11.
  • In 2004 LS polls, the saffron party had got 14 seats, while the Congress has garnered 12.
  • Advani-Modi duo in Gujarat, topped with the already existing NaMo wave, are expected to bring cheers for the BJP in the state, say polls.
  • First Published: Friday, March 28, 2014 - 17:06
    comments powered by Disqus