By Supriya Jha | Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:31

Supriya Jha

  • Haryana will hit Lok Sabha polls on April 10 for election and the contest will be for 10 parliamentary constituencies.
  • Haryana will go to Assembly election, 2014 later in the year to select the 90 members of the Haryana Legislative Assembly as its term comes to end on October 27, 2014.
  • The main political parties weilding influence in the state are Congress and the Indian National Lok Dal. However, parties like Bharatiya Janata Party, the Bahujan Samaj Party and the Haryana Janhit Congress are also gaining ground slowly.
  • Arvind Kejriwal`s Aam Aadmi Party is a new entrant, which is fighting for all 10 seats in the state.
  • The BJP will contest from eight seats, while the HJC will field candidates on two seats.
  • In 2009 Lok Sabha elections, the Congress swept the state by garnering nine out of ten seats, while the INLD failed to win a single seat.
  • The tenth seat was pocketed by the Haryana Janhit Congress (HJC), which is fighting the 2014 contest in alliance with the BJP.
  • For the Congress, the prospect does not seem as bright as last Lok Sabha Elections as CM Bhoopinder Hooda-led government`s image has been dented by various land scams and also UPA`s scams at the centre have only added to the trouble.
  • Congress MP Navin Jindal, who is contesting from Kurukshetra, has also been in news mostly for his alleged role in coal block allocation scam.
  • Other Congress candidates are Deepender Hooda (Rohtak), Shruti Choudhry (Bhiwani-Mahenderagarh), Arvind Sharma (Karnal) and Avtar Singh Bhadana (Faridabad).
  • Congress has also been hit by desertions and defections ahead of the polls. A key candidate who has left the Congress is CM Hooda`s close political aide Venod Sharma.
  • Also, Inderjit Singh, three-time Congress MP from Gurgaon, defected to the BJP this Feb and is contesting from Gurgaon as a BJP leader.
  • AAP leader Yogendra Yadav is contesting from Gurgaon in the National Capital Region (NCR).
  • AAP is fielding retired IAS officer Yudhvir Singh Khayalia from Hisar.
  • First Published: Friday, March 28, 2014 - 17:11
    comments powered by Disqus