This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Himachal Pradesh

By Supriya Jha | Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:27

Supriya Jha

  • The hill state of Himachal Pradesh has four Lok Sabha constituencies, Kangra, Shimla, Mandi and Hamirpur.
  • Polling will be on May 7.
  • Himachal is the least urbanised Indian state as 90 people live in rural areas.
  • The BJP, Congress, CPI(M) and new entrant AAP are the main parties in this election.
  • In 2009, BJP won 3 and Congress just one seat.
  • In 2012 Assembly elections, the Congress trounced the BJP, steering Virbhadra Singh to the post of CM.
  • BJP is fielding incumbents Virender Kashyap from Shimla (SC) and Anurag Thakur from Hamirpur seat.
  • Congress is fielding former Dhumal loyalist, Rajinder Rana, as the Congress candidate from Hamirpur.
  • AAP may field Kamal Kanta Batra, mother of 1999 Kargil war hero Captain Vikram Batra from Hamirpur.
  • BJP has decided to field Shanta Kumar from the Kangra Lok Sabha seat, while Dr Rajan Sushant defected to the Aam Aadmi Party and will contest from Kangra which will see Congress` Chander Kumar as another candidate in the ray.
  • The Congress has given Mandi ticket to Virbhadra Singh`s wife Pratibha Singh and CPI-M has given its ticket to Kushal Bhardwaj from the seat.
  • Jagat RaM is the CPI(M) candidate from Shimla.
  • Opinion polls show 2014 elections to be tilting in the favour of the BJP, in part due to Modi-wave. The BJP is expectd to repeat its 2009 feat by winning 3 seats.
  • First Published: Friday, March 28, 2014 - 17:27

    More from zeenews

    comments powered by Disqus