This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Lok Sabha Elections 2014: Tripura —State Profile

By Tarun Khanna | Last Updated: Tuesday, April 8, 2014 - 15:19

Tarun Khanna

  • Tripura, which was given statehood status in 1972, represents two constituencies in the Lok Sabha, Tripura East and Tripura West. Tripura East is reserved for Scheduled Tribes (ST).
  • Major political parties in Tripura are CPI(M), INC, CPI.
  • Out of 60 Assembly constituencies, CPI(M) in 2013 Assembly elections had won 49 seats whereas Congress had won 10 seats and CPI won 1 seat.
  • The Left Front was in power in the state from 1978 to 1988, and then again from 1993 onwards. During 1988–1993, the Congress and Tripura Upajati Juba Samiti were in a ruling coalition.
  • For more than a decade, CPI(M) has been winning both the Lok Sabha seats in the state.
  • Manik Sarkar is the present Chief Minister of the state.
  • 2014 General Elections in the state are scheduled to be held on April 07 and April 12.
  • First Published: Saturday, March 29, 2014 - 17:21
    comments powered by Disqus