This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Telangana: TRS puts up a sterling LS show; Jaipal Reddy loses

Last Updated: Saturday, May 17, 2014 - 00:14

Hyderabad: Telangana Rashtra Samiti has put up a sterling performance, winning 11 of the 16 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana, whereas Congress managed to bag just two.

TRS supremo K Chandrasekhar Rao won from Medak, while his daughter Kavitha won in Nizamabad. B Vinod Kumar (Karimnagar) and Konda Vishweshwar Reddy (Chevella) are among the other prominent winners from the party.

Union Ministers S Jaipal Reddy (Mahbubnagar) and P Balaram Naik (Mahabubabad) were defeated by their TRS rivals in Telangana. The new state has a total of 17 Lok Sabha constituencies.

Allies TDP and BJP have won one seat each.
The All Indian Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen (AIMIM) president and sitting MP Asaduddin Owaisi retained his Hyderabad seat.

Senior BJP leader B Dattatreya won from Secunderabad, defeating sitting Congress MP Anjan Kumar Yadav.
The result from Kalwakurhy Lok Sabha seat is yet to be announced.

First Published: Saturday, May 17, 2014 - 00:14
comments powered by Disqus