TRS announces candidates for seven Lok Sabha seats

The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) on Saturday released first list of candidates for Lok Sabha election.

IANS| Updated: Apr 05, 2014, 15:54 PM IST

Hyderabad: The Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) on Saturday released first list of candidates for Lok Sabha election.

The party, which has decided to go alone in simultaneous polls to Lok Sabha and Andhra Pradesh assembly, announced candidates for seven Lok Sabha seats.
It named AP Jitender Reddy as the candidate from Mahabubnagar, which is currently represented by party chief K Chandrasekhara Rao. Jitender Reddy was elected from the same constituency as a candidate of Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 1999.

Jitender Reddy had joined the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) in 2006 and switched loyalties to the TRS in 2010.

The TRS has fielded its senior leader B Vinod Kumar from Karimnagar. The former MP was elected from Hanamkonda in 2004 but lost 2009 elections from Karimnagar.

The TRS has fielded former state minister Kadiam Srihari from Warangal Lok Sabha constituency. Srihari quit the TDP and joined the TRS last year. He is currently the politburo member of the TRS.

Konda Vishweshwar Reddy, a businessman, will contest as TRS candidate from Chevella Lok Sabha seat in Ranga Reddy district, named after his grandfather and former deputy chief minister Konda Venkata Ranga Reddy.

Manda Jaganathan, who was elected as Congress candidate from Nagarkurnool in the last elections, will seek re-election for the same seat on the TRS ticket. He had joined the TRS last year.

Narsaiah Goud, a physician, is the TRS candidate from Bhongir parliamentary constituency.
P Rajeswara Reddy, a prominent educationist and a professor of Kakatiya University, will contest from Nalgonda.

The TRS, which announced 69 candidates for the assembly elections Friday, released second list of four candidates. A day after he quit YSR Congress party and joined the TRS, Bajireddy Goverdhan was named as the candidate for Nizamabad rural assembly constituency.

Elections to 119 assembly seats and 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana are scheduled April 30.