Zero turnout in repolls in Nagaland

Last Updated: Friday, May 16, 2014 - 00:30

Kohima: Repoll at five polling stations under 39-Sanis Assembly Constituency of Wokha District in Nagaland reported zero turnout today, a senior Election Commission (EC) official said.

Polling officials waited for electorates since morning, but not a single electorate turned up, Returning Officer (RO) for Lok Sabha polls in Nagaland Temjen Toy said.

Though there was no official communication from the voters behind the `nil` turnout, Toy said that villagers were resenting imposition of the repoll and questioned on what grounds the EC ordered it.

Repoll was ordered at 10-Lakhuti-I, 11-Lakhuti-II, 13-Lakhuti-IV, 36-Lakhuti-VII and 37-Lakhuti-VIII, under sub section (2) of section 58 of the Representation of People Act 1951, stating that the polls on April 9 were void.
The Congress submitted a complaint to the EC on April 25 alleging that the April 9 elections had been marred with massive proxy voting and election malpractices demanding repoll in over 1300 polling stations.
The ruling Naga People`s Front (NPF), however, lodged a complaint with the EC against its decision of repolling alleging that the move was ordered on "mere allegations" of the Congress.

First Published: Thursday, May 15, 2014 - 08:48

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus