Independent legislators in Goa come together

Last Updated: Wednesday, May 2, 2012 - 20:43

Panaji: In a politically significant move, all the five independent legislators in Goa Legislative Assembly have come together apparently to emphasise their identity.

Vijay Sardesai (Fatorda), Benjamin Silva (Velim), Rohan Khaunte (Porvorim), Avertano Furtado (Navelim) and Naresh Sawal (Bicholim) came together at a ‘Sangatan` function in Fatorda last night.

Avertano Furtado is a minister in the Manohar Parrikar`s cabinet.

Sardesai, the Fatorda MLA who took the initiative to bring them together, said, "No one needs to feel threatened by the closeness of independent legislators.

Independents are elected by the voters who do not believe in any political party. People voted us because they felt that we are important as individuals."

Some BJP workers were mistaking the recent mandate given by people, he added. "People voted for Manohar Parrikar and not for BJP. Some party workers were going overboard after the results".

The coming together of independents would not threaten government`s stability as Parrikar has the numbers, but they are likely to act as a pressure group.

BJP has 21 members in the 40-member House.


First Published: Wednesday, May 2, 2012 - 20:43

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus