This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

No-confidence motion against Goa Speaker defeated

Last Updated: Thursday, August 5, 2010 - 21:51

Panaji,: A no-confidence motion against Goa
Legislative Assembly Speaker Pratapsingh Rane, moved by
opposition BJP, was on Thursday defeated by a head count.

The motion was defeated 23-14 on the floor of the House,
after the culmination of an hour long debate.
In the 39-member Assembly, 37 legislators voted.
Independent legislator Anil Salgaoncar abstained, while deputy
Speaker Mauvin Godinho could not vote as he was occupying the
Speaker`s chair during the entire debate.

BJP had moved a no-confidence motion against the Speaker
alleging that he was unfair to the Opposition.

The party legislators, led by Manohar Parrikar, had
contended that the Speaker was indiscriminately delaying the
verdict of various disqualification petitions filed before his

Supporting the motion, Parrikar alleged that Rane had
termed BJP as a "fraud political party" at a function
"If Speaker starts calling Opposition a fraud then we
have a doubt about his non-partisan behaviour," he said.

The Leader of Opposition said the Speaker`s behaviour was
indicative that he had a mindset leaning towards the ruling

Chief Minister Digamber Kamat, opposing the motion,
termed Rane as an "impartial" Speaker.

"In fact, legislators from my party complain that Speaker
gave more time to the Opposition," he said.

Rejecting the allegations made against him by Parrikar,
Rane said he has always acted in favour of democracy.

"I never talk of BJP or any party. I talk about what we
can do for the people of Goa. I say what we are here for and
what we can do," he added.

The ongoing monsoon session will end tomorrow.


First Published: Thursday, August 5, 2010 - 21:51

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus