Polling for RS elections in Goa

Last Updated: Friday, July 22, 2011 - 11:03

Panaji: Polling for the lone Rajya Sabha seat in Goa began Friday morning.

Congress` Shantaram Naik is contesting against BJP`s Damodar Naik for the seat.

As the polling began at State Legislative Assembly complex this morning, Deputy Speaker Mauvin Godinho was the first voter to exercise his franchise.

He was followed by Power Minister Aleixo Sequiera and Congress legislator, Reginaldo Lourenco.

The 40-seat Legislative Assembly comprises 20 Congress members, 14 BJP, 3 Nationalist Congress Party, two Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party and an independent legislator.


First Published: Friday, July 22, 2011 - 11:03

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus