Prez poll: All 40 MLAs, one MP cast votes in Goa

Last Updated: Thursday, July 19, 2012 - 22:29

Panaji: All the 40 MLAs and one out of the three MPs in Goa today cast their votes for the 14th Presidential elections in the state on Thursday.

Joint Chief Electoral Officer Narayan Navti told PTI that all the MLAs voted by afternoon.
BJP MP Sripad Naik cast his vote here, while two Congress MPs ? Francisco Sardinha and Shantaram Naik voted in the New Delhi.

BJP legislator Laxmikant Parsekar was the first voter to cast his vote when the process began in the morning at 10 am. He was followed by second BJP legislator Dr Pramod Sawant. BJP MP Naik voted at 12 o`clock.

"By noon, 39 legislators cast their votes, while post-lunch, Congress MLA Chandrakant Kavlekar was the last one to vote," Navti said.

UPA-backed candidate Pranab Mukherjee`s election agent in Goa was Pratapsingh Rane, while BJP legislator Dr Pramod Sawant was the agent for the Opposition-supported P A Sangma.


First Published: Thursday, July 19, 2012 - 22:29

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus