Congress wins municipal bypoll in Gujarat

Congress Tuesday won the Behrampura municipal ward bye-election here by defeating the BJP.

Ahmedabad: Congress Tuesday won the Behrampura municipal ward bye-election here by defeating the BJP.

"Voting was conducted on February 8 while the counting concluded today afternoon. The Congress candidate has won the election by a margin of 4,885 votes," Deputy Collector and Returning Officer Ravindrasinh J Jadeja said.

The bye-election in Behrampura ward, which falls under the Ahmedabad Municipal Corporation (AMC), was necessitated after sitting Congress councillor Shakil Shaikh died a few months back. The Behrampura ward, having large number of Muslim and Dalit voters, has been a traditional Congress stronghold.

Congress gave ticket to Yusuf Ajmeri, while BJP fielded Ratnabhai Chanchani for the bypoll.

According to State Election Commission, out of the total 67,209 voters, 26,215 (39 per cent) exercised their voting rights.

After the win, Congress MLA from Danilimda seat Shailesh Parmar claimed that people of Behrampura ward, which falls under his constituency, have rejected the BJP for not fulfilling their pre-poll promises.

"BJP has never fulfilled their promises. People of this area have seen how I have worked hard for them as an MLA. Similarly, they elected our councillor for the development of this ward. I am sure that people of other parts of state will eventually realise that Congress is always better than BJP," said Parmar.

On the landslide victory of Aam Aadmi Party in Delhi Assembly polls, Parmar claimed that BJP will be eventually wiped out from the country.

"AAP has started the Swachh Bharat Abhiyan by wiping out BJP from Delhi. This is just a beginning, as BJP will be wiped out from entire country. You can't keep the entire nation in darkness through false propaganda for long," he said.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link