Independents, small parties failed to derail BJP`s Mission-26

Small parties and independents are known to play the role of spoilsport for political big-wigs, but this time even their vote count could not create a significant dent in the `NaMo-wave` which swept all the 26 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat.

Ahmedabad: Small parties and independents are known to play the role of spoilsport for political big-wigs, but this time even their vote count could not create a significant dent in the `NaMo-wave` which swept all the 26 Lok Sabha seats in Gujarat.

Figures in Narendra Modi`s home turf reveal that the total number of votes polled in favour of small parties like AAP, SP, JD(U),BSP along with independents put together too could not cross the margin of lead obtained by BJP nominees.
In Jamnagar Lok Sabha seat of the state, the highest number of nominees fought the electoral battle, where 23 `other` candidates were in poll fray against BJP`s Poonam Madam and Congress candidate Vikram Madam.

Poonam Madam defeated two-time MP Vikram Madam with a margin of 1,75,289 votes while 23 other candidates of political parties like AAP, SP, BSP including 19 independents manage to poll 51,450 votes.
Jamnagar is followed by Navsari Lok Sabha seat where 19 `others` had contested against BJP`s candidate CR Patil and Congress` Maqsood Mirza and secured 67,879 votes.

Patil won Navsari Lok Sabha seat with a huge margin of 5,58,116 votes and stood at second after Narendra Modi.

Interestingly, no independent contested from Vadodara Lok Sabha seat where BJP`s Narendra Modi had beaten Congress`s Madhusudan Mistry with a margin of 5,70,128 votes.

Parties like AAP, BSP, SUCI (c), SP, JD (U) along with a less known Apna Desh Party altogether got 22,724 votes and could not derail Modi`s mission in Gujarat.

In Gandhinagar seat of BJP veteran L K Advani, 16 other candidates obtained 58,761 votes while the winning margin was 4,83,121.

Saurashtra regions` Surendranagar Lok Sabha seat had witnessed the impressive presence of 17 others who had secured 75,554 votes but could not cut the winning margin of BJP`s candidate Devji Fatehpura who defeated Congress`s Soma Patel with 2.02 lakh votes.

In Rajkot seat, 15 others were in fray against BJP`s Mohan Kundaria and Congress`s Kunvarji Bavaliya. Others got 42,200 votes, while Kundaria won against Bavaliya with a margin of 2,46,428 votes.

The others including independents and a BSP nominee got the highest numbers of votes (1,01,985) in Bhavnagar Lok Sabha seat with the moderate presence of Aam Aadmi Party`s Kanu Kalsaria who secured 49,540 votes.

BJP`s nominee Bharti Shiyal (5,49,529) emerged victorious there against Congress`s Pravin Rathod (2,54,041) with the margin of 2,95,488 votes.

In Bharuch Lok Sabha seat, the `others` got 92,065 votes but could not play spoilsport as BJP`s Mansukh Vasava won against Congress nominee Jayesh Patel with a margin of 1,53,273 votes.

In Anand Lok Sabha seat, where BJP won with the least margin of 63,426, others just managed to get 18,918 votes. There BJP`s Dilip Patel defeated Congress nominee and former Union Minister Bharat Solanki.

Also, the Modi-led party could not cross the winning margin beyond one lakh in Sabarkantha seat, where others got 51,713 votes while BJP`s Dipsinh Radhod defeated congress candidate Shankarsinh Vaghela by 84,445 votes.

BJP`s Jaswant Bhabhor clinched Dahod seat from Prabha Taviyad of Congress with a whopping lead of 2,30,354 votes while the others got 76,208 votes.

In Valsad Lok Sabha constituency, others managed to get 68,057 votes where as BJP`s candidate K C Patel took over the seat from Congress`s two-time MP Kishan Patel with a margin of 2,08,004 votes.

BJP`s Prabhatsinh Chauhan retained Panchmahal seat while defeating Congress` Ramsinh Pramar with 1,70,569 votes, where others` count was shrinked to 61,528 votes.

Seats where others could not make a hole into BJP`s vote-bank are Ahmedabad east where winning margin was 3.26 lakh against 32,094 votes of others, Ahmedabad west where lead was 3.20 lakh against others total votes of 34,141 and Amreli where winning lead was 1.56 lakh against 72,475 votes.

In Banaskantha, others got 55,859 votes while winning margin of BJP candidate was 2,02,334 votes.

Similarly, in Bardoli seat former union Minister Tushar Chaudhary faced defeat, and others got 64534 votes while BJP won with 123884.

BJP`s candidate won Chhota Udepur Lok Sabha seat with a margin of 1,79,809 votes while others got 35,624 votes.

In Junagadh, the BJP won with 1.35 lakh votes while for others the total vote count remained 33,830.

Kheda, where former Union Minister Dinsha Patel lost with 2.32 lakh votes, others` vote count was 32011.

The spoilsport mathematics of others could not work in Kutch where the margin was 2,54,482 against others` 58,133 votes. In Mehsana, the margin remained 2,08,891 against others` 41,034 votes. While in Patan, against the winning margin of 1,38,719, others got 45,381 votes.

In Porbander where fight was between BJP and NCP, others got 44,087 votes while the leading margin was 2.67 lakh votes.

BJP`s Darshana Jardosh won Surat seat with a huge margin of over 5.33 lakh votes while others could manage only 33,352 votes.

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link