`Three names shortlisted for post of IIM-A director`

Last Updated: Saturday, March 9, 2013 - 22:44

Ahmedabad: The governing council of Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad(IIM-A) on Saturday shortlisted three names for the post of new director, sources said.

"A consensus was reached on three names for the post of new IIM-A director, during the governing council meeting held today under the chairmanship of L&T chief AM Naik. They have been forwarded to the Union Ministry of HRD," a board member told PTI.

The Union Ministry of HRD will finalise the name of the new director after getting approval from the cabinet committee, sources said.

There was a delay of about four months in arriving at a consensus on three names by the governing council.

The five-year term of incumbent director, Samir Barua had expired in November last year. However, the director was given two extensions -- a first in IIM-A`s history. The term of his second extension will be over by March end.

"The agenda of board meeting aimed to derive consensus on three names," IIM-A Director Samir Barua told PTI.

However, despite being a member of the IIM-A governing council, Barua did not attend the meeting.

Among the prominent professors from the institute in race for the coveted post were Shailendra Mehta, Ravindra Dholakia, G Raghuram, Sebastian Morris, Rakesh Basant, Rekha Jain and Arvind Sahay.

The selection committee headed by L&T Managing Director AM Naik constituted to shortlist suitable candidates for the post of institute Director comprise Rama Bijapurkar, Mastek`s Non-Executive Director Ashank Desai, GlaxoSmithKline Pharmaceuticals Ltd`s Managing Director Hasit B Joshipura and Arvind Group CMD Sanjay Lalbhai.


First Published: Saturday, March 9, 2013 - 22:44

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus