AAP not to contest coming Assembly polls in four states: Arvind Kejriwal

Arvind Kejriwal said that AAP would not contest upcoming Assembly elections in Haryana, Maharashtra, Jammu and Kashmir and Jharkhand.

Zee Media Bureau

Sangrur: After the conclusion of Aam Aadmi Party`s three-day national executive meet here on Sunday, Arvind Kejriwal said that it would not contest upcoming Assembly elections in Haryana, Maharashtra, Jammu and Kashmir and Jharkhand.

The party which took everyone by surprise by winning 28 seats in the Delhi Assembly polls last December said that the reason for taking such a decision was `limited resources`.

But the party would contest two Assembly bypolls in Punjab slated for August 21, Kejriwal revealed.

At the same time the AAP convener called on party workers from all over the country to focus on Delhi Assembly polls.
Delhi is at present under the President`s rule after Kejriwal resigned as the CM after 49 days over the passing of the Jan Lokpal Bill. AAP was running the government with outside support of the Congress.

Since then no party has been able to muster a majority to form the government

Meanwhile, Kejriwal accused Delhi`s Lt Governor Najeeb Jung of succumbing to BJP`s pressure for not announcing elections in the national capital, PTI reported.

He also accused the BJP of trying to lure its MLAs by promising them ministerial berths in its effort to form government in Delhi.

"But, the party miserably failed to lure even a single AAP MLA. Otherwise, the party would have been invited by the LG to form government," Kejriwal said.

The AAP would try to strengthen its base in Punjab, Kejriwal said as the party announced names of candidates for two assembly bypolls in Punjab.
The party won four seats in the recent Lok Sabha polls in the state.

Harjit Singh Adaltiwala would be the party candidate for Patiala assembly seat and Balkar Singh Sidhu for Talwandi Sabo, Kejriwal said.

Patiala assembly seat was vacated by Congress leader Amarinder Singh after he was elected to the Lok Sabha from Amritsar.

The bypoll in Talwandi Sabo arose after Congress MLA Jeet Mohinder Singh Sidhu joined the ruling Shiromani Akali Dal (SAD).

With PTI inputs

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link