This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Haryana municipal polls on May 20

Last Updated: Monday, April 26, 2010 - 20:48

Chandigarh: Elections to the municipal corporation of Faridabad, 10 municipal councils and 28 municipal committees in Haryana will be held May 20, a poll panel official said Monday.

"Nearly 2,078,281 voters will exercise their franchise and the voting will take place through electronic voting machines (EVMs)," state Election Commissioner Dharam Vir said.

He said that municipal general elections will be held in 35 wards of municipal corporation in Faridabad, 266 wards of 10 municipal councils and 436 wards of 28 municipal committees.

The 10 municipal councils are Palwal, Fatehabad, Tohana, Hansi, Jind, Narwana, Thanesar, Narnaul, Sirsa and Sonipat.

The 28 municipal committees are Naraingarh, Charkhi Dadri, Ratia, Sohna, Barwala, Jhajjar, Safidon, Cheeka, Gharaunda, Taraori, Assandh, Nissing, Shahabad, Ladwa, Pehowa, Mahendergarh, Nuh, Ferozepur Zhirka, Hodel, Punhana, Samalkha, Bawal, Meham, Kalanwali, Ellenabad, Rania, Gohana and Ganaur.

The official said that with the election being notified Monday, the model code of conduct would come into force immediately.

The state Election Commission has purchased 5,314 EVMs for the voting, he said.


First Published: Monday, April 26, 2010 - 20:48

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus