HJC-BJP committee to decide on seats

BJP and Haryana Janhit Congress met in Kurukshetra to discuss seat-sharing arrangement for 2014 Lok Sabha elections and announced committee to decide on seats to be contested by respective parties.

Chandigarh: BJP and its ally Haryana Janhit Congress held a meeting in Kurukshetra on Monday to discuss the seat-sharing arrangement for the 2014 Lok Sabha elections and announced to form a committee to decide on the seats to be contested by the respective parties.
The meeting authorised state BJP president Rambilas Sharma and HJC president Kuldeep Bishnoi to form a committee, comprising three members from each side, to decide on the two seats which the HJC will contest and the remaining eight seats from where BJP will field its candidates.

The meeting was attended by senior leaders from both sides including Bishnoi and Dharampal Malik from the HJC and besides Sharma, Anil Vij, K P Gujjar, Capt Abhimanyu and Veer Kumar Yadav from the BJP.

Cadres of both parties have been asked to gear up for the Assembly polls as well, "since it was felt that Haryana, where these are due a year from now, might witness the Lok Sabha and Assembly elections simultaneously," Sharma said.

Asked about the possibility of any tie-up with its erstwhile ally the Indian National Lok Dal led by former Chief Minister Om Prakash Chautala, Sharma asserted that BJP`s alliance with HJC was "final" and all other suggestions were "baseless".

In the Om Prakash Chautala-government in Haryana from 1999-2005, BJP was the INLD`s ally, but parted ways later on.

It is for the first time that BJP will contest the Lok Sabha elections in Haryana in alliance with Bishnoi-led HJC.

Coming out in support of its ally, Sharma said BJP will extend full cooperation to HJC`s proposed rally at Adampur in Hisar on October 6 and several senior BJP leaders, including Murli Manohar Joshi, will be part of the rally.

A fortnight back, Bishnoi had attended the BJP`s ex-servicemen rally at Rewari which was addressed by the BJP`s prime ministerial candidate Narendra Modi.