This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Two MLAs resign from Haryana Assembly to fight LS poll

Last Updated: Tuesday, March 18, 2014 - 17:16

Chandigarh: SAD(Badal)`s lone representative in the Haryana Assembly Charanjeet Singh and ruling Congress` Dharambir Singh on Tuesday resigned as members of the state Assembly after switching over to different parties to fight the upcoming Lok Sabha polls.

With the resignation of Dharambir, the Congress has now 45 members in the 90-member Assembly. The Bhupinder Singh Hooda government also enjoys the support of seven Independents and lone BSP MLA.
While Charanjeet has been nominated from the Sirsa by INLD, Dharambir switched over to the BJP and is set to contest from the Bhiwani-Mahendergarh parliamentary seat.

Charanjeet represented Kalanwali (reserved) seat while Dharambir was MLA from Sohna Assembly constituency.
They submitted their resignations to the Speaker and it has been accepted, official sources said.
INLD has fielded candidates on all the ten Lok Sabha seats in Haryana, polling for which will be held on April 10.

Dharambir, a former Chief Parliamentary Secretary had quit Congress recently after switching over to the BJP to fight the Lok Sabha polls from Bhiwani-Mahendergarh constituency.

The Assembly has notified that the two MLAs have resigned from their seats in the legislative Assembly by their letters dated March 11 and 16, respectively and submitted today.

These two Assembly constituencies have fallen vacant with effect from today.

Assembly polls in Haryana are due to be held in September-October this year.

First Published: Tuesday, March 18, 2014 - 17:16

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus