Himachal to get five more national highways

Last Updated: Tuesday, June 15, 2010 - 18:44

Shimla: The Central government has sanctioned five more national highways to strengthen road connectivity in Himachal Pradesh, Chief Minister Prem Kumar Dhumal said here Tuesday.

Apart from the five highways, the Union Ministry of Road Transport and Highways has sanctioned two by-passes and one major tunnel near Swarghat in Bilaspur district, Dhumal told reporters here.

The five approved national highways are Hamirpur-Sujanpur-Palampur (59 km), Brahmpukhar-Bilaspur-Ghumarwin-Baijnath (11 km), Bharmour-Chamba-Dalhousie-Pathankot (133 km), Taradevi-Jubbarhatti-Kunihar-Ramshehar-Nalagarh-Ghanauli (106 km) and Chandigarh-Baddi-Nalagarh-Arki-Shalaghat (83 km).

Dhumal said the ministry has also agreed to sanction two more proposed national highways -- Slappar-Pandoh-Karsog-Tattapani-Dhalli (296 km) and Sainj-Luhari-Banjar-Aut-Bagidhar (97 kms) in the next phase shortly.

Himachal Pradesh currently has 11 national highways with a road length of 1,471 km.


First Published: Tuesday, June 15, 2010 - 18:44
comments powered by Disqus