Aggressive Kangaroos decimate India 5 - 2
  • This Section
  • Latest
  • Web Wrap
Last Updated: Wednesday, March 03, 2010, 08:39
Zeenews Bureau

Major Dhyanchand National Stadium, New Delhi: Australia ensured that all hopes of Indian fight-back become a remote possibility as they extended they managed to rout India with a 5-2 against a full house crowd under lights at Major Dhyanchand National Stadium.

The result might look a bit deceptive as India which conceded five goals and also a penalty stroke managed 50% of the ball penetration. Australia on the other hand, managed to emerge victorious and win the Ajitpal-Ric Charlesworth trophy with just 30% ball penetration. In the end it was the score line which mattered and not the ball possession or penetration.

The mighty Australians toyed with the Indian defence and scored through Glenn Turner (10th minute, 43rd), Liam De Young (2nd), Desmond Abbott (26th) and Luke Doerner (42nd).

For India, Vikram Pillay (35th) and captain Rajpal Singh (53rd) sounded the board.

Today's defeat saw India drop down in the points table to the fourth spot with England on top with two wins, followed by Australia and Spain.

India face Spain in their next Pool B encounter at the same Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium on Thursday.

Australia could have won the match 6-2 had it not been for Adrian D'souza, who stopped a Jamie Dwyer's penalty stroke five minutes from the hooter.

With this victory, Australia has not only earned three full points but also the Ajit Pal-Ric Charlesworth Trophy as the match was designated as a friendship match between the two countries. The Indian defence looked in complete disarray, while the forwardline lacked purpose and were guilty of holding on to the ball. The mid-field looked off-colour and failed to create chances unlike the Pakistan match where they controlled the proceedings.

Ace drag-flicker Sandeep Singh who dazzled against Pakistan, converting two penalty corners, failed to find the net once out of the three short corners India earned in the match.

Australia played like a wounded tiger after their shocking 2-3 loss at the hand of England and scored two goals within the first 10 minutes of the match.

The Kookaburras surged ahead in the second minute of the match when Liam De Young scored from a rebound after his initial shot had clashed against the crossbar.

The Aussies caught the Indian defence napping with quick moves and earned three penalty corners in the first 15 minutes.

Ric Charlesworth's boys earned back-to-back penalty corners and doubled their lead in the 10th minute when Tuner slammed home from the second set-piece, much to the disappointment of the near-capacity crowd. Australia went 3-0 in the 26th minute through Desmond Abbott, who pushed the ball over the goal-line after he was set up by a well-created move from De Young and Robert Hammond.

Down by three goals, the Indians went into all-out attack in the last stages of the first half and earned their first penalty corner in the 27th minute but the opportunity was wasted as they opted for variation.

With a minute to go before the break, the home team was awarded another short corner but the video umpire overruled the decision after Australia appealed against it.

Nine seconds before the lemon break, India finally pulled one back through Vikram Pillay who slammed the ball home after receiving a cross from Gurbaj Singh from the right wing.

Down 3-1 at the halfway mark, the Indians were expected to come out all guns blazing in the second session but it was not to be and Australia scored another through a short corner from Luke Doerner in the 42nd minute.

Turner scored his second of the day and Australia's fifth when he converted yet another set-piece two minutes later.

The Indians subsequently lost cool which resulted in green cards for Deepak Thakur for a face-off with Robert Hammond and Arjun Halappa, who argued with on-field umpire.

The Indians reduced the margin in the 53rd minute when Rajpal scored after Halappa's individual brilliance set it up for the Indian skipper.

The match was also attended by Australian foreign affairs minister Stephen Smith and India's HRD minister Kapil Sibal.

First Published: Wednesday, March 03, 2010, 08:39

comments powered by Disqus