This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Bihar Assembly Elections 2015 Results

Battle for Bihar: NDA close to arrangement on seat-sharing

Last Updated: Thursday, September 10, 2015 - 14:46
Battle for Bihar: NDA close to arrangement on seat-sharing

Zee Media Bureau

Patna/New Delhi: With the Election Commission announcing schedule for assembly elections in Bihar, the BJP-led National Democratic Alliance has speeded up the process of sharing of seats among its constituents.

Sources have told Zee Media that a broad agreement has been reached on the issue after Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP president Amit Shah made it clear that there was a need to put up a united fight against the formidable opposition combine of RJD, JD(U) and Congress.

As per reports, of the total 243 seats in Bihar assembly, BJP will contest 165 seats, Ram Vilas Paswan's Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) 40-42 seats, Upendra Kushwaha's Rashtriya Lok Samata Party 18-20 seats and Jitan Ram Manjhi's Hindustan Awam Morcha in 15 seats.

Sources added that the number of seats for a particular party has been worked out on the formula of six assembly seats to a Lok Sabha MP. A formal announcement is likely next week.

The 'Grand Secular Alliance' of Lalu Yadav and Nitish Kumar had formalised seat-sharing agreement on August 12. While, RJD and JD(U) will contest 100 seats each., 40 seats were left for the Congress. No announcement was made with regard to the rest three seats even as Samajwadi Party has decided to contest on its own in protest of not being accommodated in the seat-sharing agreement.

First Published: Thursday, September 10, 2015 - 14:46

comments powered by Disqus

Bihar Elections 2015 Photos