BJP parliamentary board discusses Goa succession

New Delhi: The name of the successor of Goa chief minister, Manohar Parrikar will be declared by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) on Saturday after a decision in this concern was taken by the party in the parliamentary board meeting today. 

BJP parliamentary board discusses Goa succession

New Delhi: Health Minister Laxmikant Parsekar was declared by the BJP as the next Goa chief minister after Manohar Parrikar resigned from the post on Saturday.

BJP's parliamentray board meeting took place today morning to discuss the Union Cabinet expansion and decide the Parrikar's successor.

Shortly after the meeting chaired by BJP president Amit Shah ended, party general secretary JP Nadda confirmed that issues related to new Goa chief minister and nominations for Uttar Pradesh Rajya Sabha polls were also discussed.

A formal announcement in this concern will be made by the party at 4 pm, he added.

Finance Minister Arun Jaitley currently has the additional charge of the defence portfolio.

Apart from Parrikar, the names of Jayant Sinha, son of former Union minister Yashwant Sinha, Anurag Thakur from Himachal Pradesh, Jat leader from Haryana Birender Singh, Bhumiar leader from Bihar Giriraj Singh or Bhola Singh, Col Sonaram Chaudhary and Gajendra Singh Shekhawat, both of Rajasthan, and Hansraj Ahir from Maharashtra are also reportedly doing rounds.

Contrary to earlier reports, Prime Minister Narendra Modi did not attend the meeting as he was on a two-day visit to Varanasi.

BJP's parliamentary board will discuss the Cabinet expansion, a day ahead of the oath-taking ceremony at Rashtrapati Bhavan tomorrow.

The oath-taking ceremony is likely to be held around 1 pm in the Durbar Hall.

The reshuffle is taking place ahead of Modi's 10-day visit to three countries.