This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Om Prakash Rawat assumes charge as new Election Commissioner

Om Prakash Rawat on Friday assumed charge as the new Election Commissioner.

New Delhi: Om Prakash Rawat on Friday assumed charge as the new Election Commissioner.

During his tenure at Election Commission, there would be elections to assemblies of Bihar, Tamil Nadu, Kerala, West Bengal, Puducherry, Assam, Uttarakhand, Punjab, Manipur, Uttar Pradesh, Goa, Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh.

Besides this Presidential as well as Vice-Presidential elections would also be held under his tenure.

With Rawat's appointment, the sole vacancy in the three- member poll body has been filled. His appointment comes days before the poll watchdog takes a call on announcing the schedule for Bihar assembly polls.

He will have a tenure of more than three years which will end in December, 2018.

An EC or a CEC has a tenure of six years in office or till he or she attains the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier.

A former IAS officer of the 1977 batch, he served at various posts in Madhya Pradesh and at Centre including the post of Secretary, Ministry of Heavy Industries and Public Enterprises, Department of Public Enterprises. 

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions


photo gallery



Donald Trump at United Nations: 5 key takeways from US President's maiden speech

India vs Australia: Why do we need three Aussie experts for series in India?

With just Rs 1,080, you can ensure that a girl does not drop out of school

Maharashtra: Here's BJP's 'plan B' if Shiv Sena quits coalition government

Appeal for help: I’m Struggling To Save My 45-Day-Old Baby Girl