PDP-BJP coalition's first coordination committee meet held

 Jammu and Kashmir's ruling alliance partners BJP and PDP tonight held first meeting of its newly constituted coordination committee.

Jammu: Jammu and Kashmir's ruling alliance partners BJP and PDP tonight held first meeting of its newly constituted coordination committee.

Founder member of PDP and Srinagar MP Tariq Hameed Karra was reportedly absent from the crucial meet, which was held under the chairmanship of Deputy Chief Minister Nirmal Singh, sources said tonight.

The meeting was dogged by the conspicuous absences of Karra, whose question in Parliament on the transfer of the NHPC power projects triggered protests from opposition and several adjournments in the two houses of JK Legislature today, sources said.

Karra, who had reportedly arrived from New Delhi during the day, did not take part in the meeting with coalition partner BJP wanted know from PDP as to why the Karra did not take part in the meeting, they said.

Karra had won Srinagar Parliamentary seat by defeating former Union Minister Farooq Abdullah in 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

"The first ever coordination committee meeting of PDP and BJP was held here tonight. It went on smoothly," state BJP party chief and Jammu MP Jugal Kishore told PTI.

He said all the members, except Karra and Ladakh MP and senior BJP leader Thupstan Chhewang, took part in the meeting.

"Chewwang had earlier expressed his inability to participate in the meeting in view of being in Leh and sent his communication to us," he said.

The repeated call to Karra failed to get any response and PDP spokesman Naeem Akhtar did not take calls over the issue.

"We will issue an official release tomorrow over the meeting. We will not speak on the issues discussed," Jugal said.

Apart from chairman Nirmal Singh, other members of the committee who took part in the meeting included PDP president Mehbooba Mufti, BJP state chief Jugal Kishore, Muzaffar Hussain Beigh, Shamsher Singh (all MPs) and Choudhary Lal Singh, Abdul Rehman Veeri and Naeem Akhter (ministers in the PDP-BJP coalition government).

A 10-member coordination committee of coalition partners PDP and BJP was formed to ensure that the agenda for the alliance is implemented within the defined time-frame and all the policy issues adhered to in letter and spirit.

"The Coordination Committee will meet at least once a month or on need basis. It will ensure smooth functioning of the alliance and the PDP-BJP coalition government, and may suggest from time to time various initiatives to be taken for the overall well being of the people of the state," it said. 

By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link