This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Five separatists turn down police security

Last Updated: Sunday, April 10, 2011 - 21:19

Jammu: Five top separatist leaders have
turned down the police security offered to them by the Jammu
and Kashmir government.

They have refused police security, which included
PSOs, guards at homes and vehicles, offered to them by the
state government in Kashmir Valley, Home Department officials

The five are JKLF chief Yaseen Malik, PPF chairman
Fazal Haq Qureshi, hardline Hurriyat Conference chairman Syed
Ali Shah Geelani, and other separatists Shabir Shah and Nayeem
Ahmed Khan.

The Omar Abdullah government has reviewed the security
of separatist leaders last month and also after the slaying of
religions leader and Jamiat-e-Ahli Hadees chief Mouvli Showkat
Ahmed in Srinagar on April eight.

Separatist leaders Moulvi Farooq, Prof Abdul Gani,
Moulvi Abbas Ansari, Aga Syed Hassan Mousvi, Bilal Ahmed Lone,
Hashim Qureshi and Sajjad Gani Lone have all been provided Z
category security.

Salim Geelani, Zafar Akbar Bhat, Shahid-ul-Islam and
Mohammad Yaqoob Vakil have been given Y category security.

Other separatist leaders -- Abdul Hassan Mustafa,
Moulvi Manzoor Hussain, Masoor Abbas Ansari, Tariq Anwar,
Rafiq-ul-Haq and Sheikh Muzaffar -- have been provided police

The officials said an amount of Rs 23.84 lakh had been
spent on security of separatist leaders.


First Published: Sunday, April 10, 2011 - 21:19
comments powered by Disqus