This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

J&K: BJP expels 6 MLAs for cross-voting

Last Updated: Friday, November 18, 2011 - 18:20

Jammu: The BJP on Friday expelled six of its
MLAs for defying the party whip in the Jammu and Kashmir
Assembly and approached the Speaker to disqualify them from
the House for cross-voting in the Legislative Council polling.
Those who have been expelled from the party with
immediate effect are Bharat Bhushan, Gharu Ram Bhagat, Durga
Das, Baldev Raj, Jagdish Sapolia and Lal Chand, state BJP
spokesperson Nirmal Kamal told reporters here today.

Former BJP Legislature Party leader Chaman Lal Gupta has
already been expelled from the primary membership of the party
for six years for "gross indiscipline".

Gupta was expelled on May 31 after seven of the 11 BJP
MLAs voted for the NC-Congress alliance candidates in the
April 13 polling for the Upper House.

New BJP Legislature Party Leader Jugal Kishore said the
Speaker has already been approached to disqualify them from
the membership of the House under the anti-defection law.
"We have written to the Election Commission and the
Speaker of JK Assembly in this regard," Kamal said.

The BJP had earlier suspended these seven MLAs from the
party and referred the matter to its Central Disciplinary
Action Committee.


First Published: Friday, November 18, 2011 - 18:20

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus