J&K cross-voting: BJP MLAs demand quick decision

Seven BJP MLAs, were suspended by the party on allegations of cross-voting in Legislative Council.

Jammu: The seven BJP MLAs, suspended by the
party on allegations of cross-voting in Legislative Council,
on Sunday asked the Central leadership to decide over the matter
and take an urgent decision.

"We were suspended about four months ago on the charges
of cross-voting. We want BJP to take an urgent decision over
our status," suspended MLA Jagdish Raj Sapolia told reporters

Flanked by other suspended MLAs, Sapolia said "whether
they have revoked our suspension or otherwise - they (BJP)
should taken an immediate decision."

"We strongly deny allegations as baseless and full of
malice. The charges have shattered our image," he added.

Sapolia alleged that the inquiry committee constituted by
the BJP President Nitin Gadkari rushed to Jammu and concluded
the inquiry in the late hours in April last year, a day after
the election result.

The committee selectively recorded the statements of MLAs
Sham Choudhary, Sukhnandan and Jugal Kishore Sharma and gave
them clean chit, he added.

Reacting to the call made by suspended MLAs, BJP National
General Secretary JP Nadda today said the party`s
Disciplinary Committee will take an action soon on the matter.

"Disciplinary Committee would take action carefully in
this issue. The decision would be made very soon," he told
reporters on the sidelines of a convention.

On the question of the suspended MLAs revolting against
the party and choosing expelled MLA Prof Chaman Lal Gupta as
their leader, he said the committee was aware and it will look
into the matter.

BJP suspended seven party MLAs after a high level
Parliamentary Board meeting.

Prof Chaman Lal Gupta (Jammu West MLA) and Prof Garu Ram
(MLA RS Pura), Baldev Raj Shamra (MLA, Reasi), Jadish Raj
Sapolia (MLA, Basholi), Bharat Bhushan (MLA, Domana), Master
Lal Chand (MLA, Bani) and Durga Dass (MLA, Hiranagar) were
suspended for their involved in cross-voting episode in
Legislative Council elections on April 13.

Only four voted in favour of BJP candidate Ranjit Singh.


By continuing to use the site, you agree to the use of cookies. You can find out more by clicking this link