This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Jammu: A total of 123 candidates, including seven ministers of Congress-NC coalition, eight former ministers and legislators are in fray for the Jammu and Kashmir's first phase of elections scheduled later this month.

"On the last day of withdrawal of the nominations for the 1st phase of assembly elections for which polling is scheduled to be held on 25th November, 123 candidates remain in fray," an official spokesman said on Tuesday.

Nazir Gurezi contesting from Gurez seat, Mohmmad Akbar Lone from Sonawari assembly constituency, Mian Altaf Ahmed from Kangan and Sajjad Kitchloo from Kishtwar are the ministers of the Omar Abdullah led NC government who are in the election fray this time.

Nawang Rigzin Jora (Congress) contesting from Leh constituency, Abdul Majid Wani (Congress) from Doda, Vakar Rasool Wani (Congress) from Banihal and Chief Executive Counsellor of Ladakh Autonomous hill Development council (LAHDC) Asgar Ali Karbalie (Congress) from Kargil are the other candidates, the spokesman said.

Three sitting legislators and former minister, including G M Saroori (Congress) from Inderwal, Mohd Sharief Naiz (Congress) from Bhaderwah, Khalid Najeeb Suharwardy (NC) from Doda besides the sitting MLAs- Nizamudin Bhat (PDP) and Ashok Kumar (Congress) from Bandipora and Ramban segments will also be fighting this election.

Apart from these, there are two bureaucrats in the fray. Former IAS officers, Mehboob Iqbal and Bashir Ahmed Roniyal are contesting on PDP ticket from Bhaderwah and Banihal constituencies as well as journalist-turned politician Firdos Tak, who is fighting on a PDP ticket from Kishtwar, official said.

Giving further details, the spokesman said that four candidates namely Faqir Mohammad Khan (INC), Mohammad Ismail Lone (JKPDP), Nazir Ahmed Khan Gurezi (NC) and Gh Rasool Bhat (Independent) will fight from 9-Gurez assembly constituency.

In 10-Bandipora Assembly Constituency, 13 candidates are in the fray including Javid Ahmed Shah (BSP), Ab Rehman (BJP), Abdullah Wani (JKNC), Usman Abdul Majid (INC), Nizam-u-Din Bhat (JKPDP), Mohammad Ismail Bhat (JKPC), Mohammad Iqbal Zargar (All India Forward Bloc), Manzoor Ahmad Baba (All J&K Kisan Mazdor Party), Sheikh Waseem Bari (Independent), Gh Ahmad Bhat (Independent), Mohammad Shafi Khan (Independent), Prof Mohammad Shafi Mir (Independent) and Nazir Ahmad Malik (Independent), he said.

In 11-Sonawari Assembly Constituency, 7 candidates will be contesting the elections namely Imtiyaz Ahmed Parray (INC), Gh Rasool Malik (Panthers Party), Mohammad Akbar Lone (JKNC), Yasir Reshi (PDP), Qawamudin Sheikh (Peoples Conference), Gh Mohammad Parray (Independent) and Nazir Ahmad Wani (Independent), he added.

In 16-Kangan Assembly Constituency, 10 candidates are in the fray including Ajaz Ahmad Sheikh (INC), Altaf Ahmad (JKNC), Bashir Ahmad Mir (JKPDP), Abdul Rashid Ganaie (JKNPP), Mohammad Sultan Lone (BSP), Nazir Ahmad Raina (BJP), Shabir Ahmad Mir (All J&K Kisan Mazdor Party), Mushtaq Ahmad Shah (J&K Peoples Conference), Showkat Hussain Khan (Independent) and Ghulam Hassan Rather (Independent).

In 17-Ganderbal Assembly Constituency, Ishfaq Ahmed Sheikh (JKNC), Sheikh Abdul Rasheed (BJP), Ali Mohammad Baba (JKNPP), Qazi Mohammad Afzal (JKPDP), Mohammad Yousuf Bhat (INC), Abdul Majeed Dhobi (J&K Peoples Conference), Bilal Ahmad Khanday (Independent) , Javed Ahmad Khan (Independent), Syed Ali Mohammad Shah (Independent), Sheikh Ghulam Ahmad (Independent), Gh Rasool Mir (Independent), Nazir Ahmad Lone (Independent)and Hilal Ahmad Dar (Independent) form the 13 candidates, the spokesman said.

In 47-Nobra Assembly Constituency, 6 candidates are in the fray including Stanzin Delik (BJP), Tashi Gyalson (JKPDP), Tsetan Namgyal (JKNC), Deldan Namgail (INC), Tsewang Rigzin (Independent), and Nissar Hussain (Independent), he said.

In 48-Leh Assembly Constituency, two candidates are in the fray including Chering Dorjay (BJP) and Nawang Rigzin (INC), he said.

In 49-Kargil Assembly Constituency, 4 candidates are in the fray including Asgar Ali Karbalaie (INC), Abdul Aziz (BJP), Anayat Ali (JKPDP) and Dr Kacho Mohammad Hussain (JKNC).  

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 25 25 14
CONG 12 12 -5
NC 15 15 -13
PDP 28 28 7
OTH 7 7 -3
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Maps
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP+ 42 42 19
CONG 6 6 -8
JMM 19 19 1
JVM+ 8 8 -3
OTH 6 6 -9
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Maps