This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

Srinagar: Separatist-turned-mainstream politician Sajad Gani Lone will contest the upcoming Jammu and assembly elections from Handwara constituency, considered to be his stronghold.

Lone, who heads Jammu and Kashmir People's Conference (JKPC), issued the first list of 18 party candidates for the 5-phase polls beginning November 25, a party spokesman said.

The JKPC has decided to field candidates in all the five constituencies in Kupwara district and its nominees apart from Lone, include three advocates ?- Salim Mir from Karnah, Bashir Ahmad Dar from Kupwara and Mohammad Abdullah (Langate).

The spokesman said Abdul Rahim Wani will try his luck from Lolab constituency.

The party has decided to field three candidates from Baramulla district and has announced the names of Khursheed Ahmad Khan from Rafiabad, Mohammad Ramzan Baba from Sopore and Asif Akbar Lone from Baramulla.

Out of the three seats in Bandipora, the JKPC has announced two names - Sheikh Qawamuddin Shilwati from Sonawari and Ismail Ashna from Bandipora, the spokesman said.

The party has decided to enter the fray from both the seats in central Kashmir?s Ganderbal district where Abdul Majeed Dhobi will contest from Ganderbal and Mushtaq Ahmad Shah from Kangan.

Of the eight constituencies in Srinagar, the JKPC has named candidates for three - Mohammad Ashraf Dar from Zadibal, Mohammad Muzaffar Matta from Batmaloo and Haji Laluddin Mir from Sonwar, the seat from where Chief Minister Omar Abdullah will test the waters.

In district Budgam, the party has announced names of

two candidates Mohammad Kamal Malik from Budgam and Dawood Bilal Loodhi from Beerwah, another constituency from where Omar is contesting.

The JKPC has announced the name of Chowdary Anwar for Pahalgam seat in south Kashmir?s Anantnag district, the spokesman said.

Lone, who dabbled in separatist politics for nearly two decades before joining the mainstream process in 2009, had unsuccessfully contested the Lok Sabha polls that year.

Lone contested the polls after parting ways with Mirwaiz Umer Farooq-led Hurriyat Conference.

The JKPC head is contesting the assembly polls this time from north Kashmir's Handwara constituency, said to be his stronghold.

The JKPC had contested the Parliamentary polls this year fielding Salamuddin Bajad from Baramullah, the seat won by PDP leader Muzaffar Hussain Beigh.

From Zee News

0 Comment - Join the Discussions
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP 25 25 14
CONG 12 12 -5
NC 15 15 -13
PDP 28 28 7
OTH 7 7 -3
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Maps
Party Won Trends Swing
BJP+ 42 42 19
CONG 6 6 -8
JMM 19 19 1
JVM+ 8 8 -3
OTH 6 6 -9
Party wise Trends/Tally | Key Candidates | Vote Share
Constituency Wise Results Interactive Maps