Mirwaiz chosen chairman of moderate faction of Hurriyat

Last Updated: Monday, September 14, 2009 - 17:55

Srinagar: Mirwaiz Umer Farooq was on Monday
unanimously elected chairman of the moderate faction of
Hurriyat Conference for two years.

The re-election of Mirwaiz, who heads Awami Action
Committee (AAC) as chairman of the separatist amalgam -- third
time in a row -- was unanimous, a Hurriyat spokesman said
after a meeting of the executive council held at its
headquarters at Rajbagh.
All the executive members -- Prof Abdu Gani Bhat, Bilal
Gani Lone, Aga Syed Hassan al-Mousvi Al-Safvi, Masroor
Abbass Ansari, Moulana Mohammad Abdullah Tari and Mukhtar
Ahmad Waza -- attended the meet.
The spokesman said election for the chairman was scheduled
in June this year, but was delayed by three months due to "ups
and downs" in the situation.

Bureau Report

First Published: Monday, September 14, 2009 - 17:55

More from zeenews

comments powered by Disqus