This ad will auto close in 10 seconds

NC, Congress bag 4 seats, PDP gets one in J&K LC elections

Last Updated: Thursday, March 7, 2013 - 20:32

Jammu: Ruling coalition partners National Conference and Congress on Thursday bagged four out of five seats and one went to PDP in the biennial election to the Legislative Council of Jammu and Kashmir.

"Two seats each went to Congress and National Conference and one to PDP in Biennial Election to the Legislative Council of Jammu and Kashmir by the Members of the Legislative Assembly today", Returning Officer for Election to the Members of the LC, Mohmmad Ramzan told reporters here today.

Syed Naeem Akhtar Andrabi of PDP, Showkat Hussain Ganie and Abdul Majeed of NC and Mohammad Muzaffar Parrey of Congress were elected for the state council from Kashmir division while Naresh Kumar Gupta of INC from Doda district.

Ramzan said that 78 votes were total polled with 87.64 per cent for four Kashmir seats.

According to the Returning Officer, after first round Syed Naeem Akhtar Andrabi secured 19 votes, Showkat Hussain Ganie got 17, Shuban Krishen Dudha 9 votes, Abdul Majeed Bhat 16 and Mohammad Muzaffar Parrey got 17 votes.

Similarly, Naresh Kumar Gupta was elected as he secured 50 votes, while his rival Mohammad Ibrar got 20 votes.

Candidates to three seats of Jammu were already declared unopposed last week, including Devinder Singh Rana of NC, Rani Gargi Bloeria of INC and Yashpal Sharma of PDP.


First Published: Thursday, March 7, 2013 - 20:31
comments powered by Disqus