Outdated info on govt websites in J-K

If you go by the official website of the J&K govt, the state has only 14 districts as against 22.

Srinagar: If you go by the official website
of the Jammu and Kashmir government, the state has only 14
districts as against 22.

Official websites of the state government, maintained by
Information department and General Administration Department
(GAD), also show outdated information about the council of
ministers and the administrative set-up.

Eight new districts were created in the state during the
chief ministership of Ghulam Nabi Azad in 2006. The districts
that have not been mentioned in the website are: Shopian,
Kulgam, Bandipora and Ganderbal in Kashmir division; and
Kishtwar, Ramban, Reasi and Samba in Jammu division.

According to the official website
www.jammukashmir.nic.in, the Omar Abdullah-led council of
ministers has not been expanded after it was sworn in on
January 5, 2009.

The council of ministers was, however, expanded to
include 13 more faces in July last year. The present strength
of the council is 22.

Then again, Finance Minister Abdul Rahim Rather
continues to hold charge of Law and Parliamentary affairs, a
portfolio given to Rural Development Minister Ali Mohammad
Sagar after the expansion of the ministry in July 2009.

The official website of General Administration
Department, a department directly under the charge of Chief
Minister Omar Abdullah, is full of old information about
officials heading the Kashmir division and several district
administrations in the state.

It says Naseema Lankar is still the divisional
commissioner of Kashmir division. However, the officer was
transferred as Commissioner Secretary in the School Education
department in August.

Two deputy commissioners have served in Kargil district
in Ladakh region of the state since Riyaz Ahmad Sheikh
relinquished the post in 2009.

However, the GAD website still has Sheikh listed as the
head of the district administration. The incumbent is N Raju
who had taken over from Satish Nehru recently.

M K Dwivedi was elevated to the rank of secretary during
a cabinet meeting in October and posted in the department of
Information Technology, while Deputy Commissioner Leh Sanjeev
Verma was posted in his place as deputy commissioner Jammu.

While Dwivedi continues to be listed as deputy
commissioner of Jammu, Verma is shown as deputy commissioner
of Kathua -- a post he held before being transferred to Leh
for overseeing the elections of the Ladakh Autonomous Hill
Development Council -- on the website.

M S Sheikh is the acting deputy commissioner Kathua but
finds no mention on the official website.

The website maintained by the Kashmir Divisional
Commissioner`s office has the newly created districts
mentioned on it, but there is no information about the
geography, demography or administration on the links to these